Balanced Diet

The key to healthy living is a healthy balanced diet. Balanced diet means eating a variety of food from the five main food groups and in the right proportion. These five food groups are :

1.Bread, Rice, Pasta and Potatoes

This food group gives you carbohydrate which is your body's main source of energy. A complex form of carbohydrate is starch and can be found in foods such as Rice, Bread, Pasta, Chapati, Potatoes and Breakfast Cereals. Excess carbohydrate can cause obesity and increases the risk of diabetes.

2.Fruit and vegetables

Fruits and Vegetables gives you vitamins and antioxidants and it can help you protect against obesity, cancer and other chronic diseases. They are low in calories and can be eaten in plenty. It is important you eat a wide variety of fruit and vegetables to get all the necessary nutrients for your body.

3.Milk and dairy

This group contains Milk, Cheese, Yoghurt and Paneer which contain calcium, protein and some vitamins. Calcium is important for strong bones and teeth. These foods contain high saturated fat and should be eaten in moderation.

4.Meat, Fish and Eggs

This group includes protein from animal and plant sources. Protein helps growth and maintenance of your body. Animal sources of protein are all kinds of meat, fish and eggs. Plant sources include beans, lentils, peas, nuts, dahl and soy.

5.Fat, sugar and salt

This group consists of cooking oil, butter, ghee, cakes, biscuits, soft drinks, chocolate and pastries. These foods are high sources of energy and should be limited. Excess intake of these foods lead to obesity and heart disease.